No nuts for us!

no peanuts

Earlier in the week my son had an allergist appointment.  This has been long overdue since we had realized in February that there may be an allergy to peanuts.  I saw spots on his face that I believe were hives.  I was able to bring him to the allergist at the beginning of March and get skin tested.  Skin test came back negative and blood work also came back negative.  Next on the list, was the food challenge.  I had made the appointment for the end of March.  However, that wasn’t able to happen because of an allergic reaction / adverse reaction to some antibiotics (that’s possibly a story for another day). 

Anyway, today was the allergist appointment that I had to make because the pediatrician insisted the antibiotics weren’t declared an allergy / avoidance until the allergist agreed.  The allergist then asked, if I wanted to do the peanut food challenge since he had the time for it. 

Great!  We need to get that potential allergy figured out as well.  I quickly was told the process and the nurse scurried out of the room and reappeared with a ¼ of a teaspoon of peanut butter in a wrap (that I provided).  She told me to just come let her know when he finished the whole thing… He looked extraordinarily interested so I told her to just hold on a second and then he scarfed down the little peanut butter wrap… and the clock began!

15 minutes later there was no reaction and it was time to attempt ½ a teaspoon of peanut butter.  The nurse put it in the same type of wrap as the first bit.  This time… he wanted absolutely NOTHING to do with it.  He started screaming at the top of his lungs and tried throwing it anywhere he could.  The nurse suggested on a cracker.  I told her I was willing to try but I wasn’t so sure he would take it.  He screamed even LOUDER.  Our next effort was just to have the ½ teaspoon of peanut butter on a spoon.  At this point, I was hesitant that he would accept it.  However, he ate a lighter breakfast and this was his morning snack… So, we attempted a 3rd way to get him interested in the peanut butter.  Once he started screaming at the top of his lungs again (at this point it was about 30 minutes of his hysterical crying and screaming) I asked the nurse to see what the doctor suggested we do.  I am not a fan of force feeding someone and I especially wanted to figure out a different way after the doctor told me that sometimes refusal of eating a food is a sign of a food allergy to that food. 

I couldn’t even consider to force feed the poor boy after so many tears and hysteria… we still had to get 1 and ½ teaspoons of peanut butter into him for the test to be valid.  The allergist told me that it’s quite normal for a child to refuse food during a food challenge.  He wanted to stop the test, we have to continue complete avoidance of peanuts (and tree nuts), and he’d see us back in 6 months when hopefully my son would be interested in eating the 1 and ¾ teaspoons of peanut butter.  In the meantime, my husband and I get to decide if during the next peanut butter food challenge if we’ll force feed it to him if necessary…

If I didn’t honestly think he had a peanut butter allergy I wouldn’t do all of this.  However, I am almost positive that he had hives when I first introduced peanut butter to him 4 months ago. 

I guess at this point we just have to wait and see. 

One thought on “No nuts for us!

  1. Pingback: A Bit Peanut Peeved | Baby Wears the Pants

Leave a Reply

