Losing our cool

90 degrees

Imagine it…

It is 90 something degrees outside… it is after nap time and afternoon snack and it is time to venture out and get a few errands run…

I have gotten my son’s diaper bag, extra bag of stuff to drop off, his shoes on, his small Mickey Mouse in his hands, him in the car and buckled into the rear facing car seat, car on, and garage door button pressed… It goes about half way up and comes to a COMPLETE stop!

At first, I assume that the garage door is broken.  It is 20+ years old and getting both garage doors replaced soon because the other door is actually bent and broken.  I then quickly run back inside to see if it is the garage or the power.  There is no A/C and the lights are not turning on!

I have to get my son and everything else back into the house…

We never lose power so I am at a loss… I start calling and texting my husband begging for help and suggestions of how to deal with all of this as quick as possible… I venture in the dark basement to find the circuit breaker box to make sure it is not simply a blown fuse… nope.

My next thought goes to getting the car out of the garage.  With no power I know it is important to get the car out so that I can feed my son by 6:00pm. 

I finally get my husband on the phone.  He quickly walks me through unclipping the garage door from the motor so I can manually pull it up and get the car out of the garage.  Luckily, we bought a ladder and have it in the garage.  I am terrified of heights but need to climb the ladder to unclip the garage door from the motor…

Up the ladder I go as my son is safely inside the house screaming because he is confused of what is going on and why Mama has ditched him… It takes MUCH longer than necessary but I was finally able to get the clip off and the door disconnected.  Next was to get the garage door lifted up higher than I can reach and to stay still long enough for me to get in the car and pull it out of the garage… I attempted myself two or three times, I attempted with a big broom two times, and finally gave up. 

On the phone with my husband, trying to figure out how I was going to get the car out of the garage where the garage door would not stay open long enough!  He finally suggested that I go next door and ask our next door neighbor… Oh yeah!  We have nice and friendly neighbors that always offer their help if we need anything. 

Grab son, head through the overgrown path to our neighbor’s house and find him outside… He agrees to come over and see what he can do… He quickly and easily gets the garage door open but also cannot figure out how to get it to stay open… I end up just throwing my son inside yet again, hopping in the car, and with my neighbor holding the door open pull the car out of the garage…

Yeah, that was my afternoon.  We ended up going out, running one of the many errands, and meeting Daddy for dinner… I am exhausted!

One thought on “Losing our cool

  1. Wonderful! Reminds me of when i wad a little guy and locked the whole family out by locking the screen door which only was designed to be locked and unlocked from the inside! My fad had to cone home from well and take the screen door of the hinges which required our neighbors olive oil for lubricant! It was quite a scene.

    Like

Leave a Reply

