Happy birthday to me

 

samantha-birthday-cupcakes

Cupcakes made for my 7th birthday party.

Today is my birthday.  It used to always be a really big deal for me; my mom would sing “Happy Birthday” to me first thing in the morning even once I lived on my own she would call me.  My mom passed away a little over 1.5 years ago (on the day my son was born – that is a story for another day) and last year’s birthday and this year’s birthday I really miss hearing her sing “Happy Birthday” first thing in the morning to me! 

Now that she is not here to celebrate my birthday with me I really do not like my birthday anymore.  When I was growing up I never really understood why she wanted / NEEDED to celebrate birthdays with me even once I got “too old for birthday parties”.  However, now that I am a mom myself I understand that the birthday is not even just a celebration of the person that was born but for the parents of that person as well.  I only wish I would have been able to let my mom know that I understand why she used to always have cupcakes in the shape of pumpkins made for my birthday and why she always needed to plan an amazing party for my big day. 

Now, on my birthday, I have started taking time to realize and appreciate all the things about my mom I completely took for granted when I was young and wish I could say thank you to my mom for always celebrating me and my birthday!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Happy birthday to me

Leave a Reply

