One, two, nine…

 

mini-pumpkins

Most of the mini pumpkins and mini gourds.

 

This weekend we had one of my friends come visit that we have not seen in many years.  It has taken us multiple years to even be able to coordinate our schedules to be able to see each other.  She had not even met our son yet…

She arrived on Saturday right after naptime and stayed until this afternoon right before naptime.  An entire day together was awesome!

At first, our son was very shy and was trying his hardest to not even make eye contact during his afternoon snack.  After snack, we decided to go to a local orchard and check out their family day.  We were arriving very close to the end of the event so decided to pick out a zillion mini pumpkins instead.  Once getting home, my son made a game out of grabbing as many pumpkins as he could reach off of our bay window in the kitchen and give them to my friend.  Once he could not reach anymore he put them all back and started over again.  He was able to reach about 6 or so.  This game lasted until bedtime when we had to tear him away from the pumpkins and my friend.

This morning he did not want to get out of his crib until I reminded him that Daddy was downstairs and that my friend was still here.  The rest of the morning routine until she appeared he was calling out her name and looking for her in the living room and kitchen.  It was adorable!

After breakfast, while we were taking it slow wanting to get out of the house for the day, the pumpkin game started up again… This continued even when my friend started pulling aside a few white mini pumpkins for herself.  My son was not happy and exclaimed, “mine!”  I had to remind him that she was only taking a few and that the rest were his.  I guess buying the box of mini pumpkins and mini gourds was worth the small investment.

Right before lunch my friend left and we said our goodbyes.  After naptime and the rest of the day my son kept calling my friend’s name and was looking for her.  I wonder how long it will take for him to stop looking for her.  I guess we will have to have another visit again soon!

 

Leave a Reply

